In partnership with the Maine Memory Network Maine Memory Network

Abplanalp Library, UNE

Class of 1890, Westbrook Seminary

Contributed by Abplanalp Library, UNE
MMN Item 29171 Item Details
Class of 1890, Westbrook Seminary
MMN Item 29171 Zoom


Members of the Westbrook Seminary Class of 1890 include: Hervey Hastings Hoyt (Peabody, Kansas), Minnie Augusta Rankin (East Hiram) Abbie Frances Holding (Deering) , John Murray Quinby (Augusta), Sewell Baker Kilburn (Portland), Helen Louise Flint (East Hiram), Fred Strorer Walker (Westbrook), Frank Wilson Lamb (Cumberland Mills), Virgil Louis Leighton (W. Falmouth), Lucy Edna Greenlaw (Cumberland Mills), Lillian May Weeks (Westbrook), Clara Jordon Jones (Deering), Charles Storer Knight (Deering), Ora Gates, and Mae Florence Thayer (Portland).

Westbrook Seminary was founded in 1831 and began in a section of Westbrook that became Deering and was later annexed to Portland. In the 20th century, the institution moved from coeducational seminary to girls' school, to junior college for women, to college, and in 1996 became part of the University of New England.

View additional information about this item on the Maine Memory Network.